When will Japan reopen its borders?

As of July 1st, Japan bans entry of residents from a total 129 countries/regions.




In the past month, there has been reports the government is considering easing restrictions on business entries from Australia, New Zealand, Thailand and Vietnam.


On July 1st, the Asahi Shimbun reported that Taiwan, South Korea and China are also among the candidates. Brunei and Myanmar could also possibly be included.


After business travel resumes, students will receive the next priority. It will be some time before tourists will be allowed in, the Asahi Shimbun reported.